Pittsburgh Rocks

Earlier this year, I was in Pittsburgh for a conference. I used to visit often, but it had been many years since my last visit. I managed to see a couple of new things, but there was one old favorite that I knew I had to revisit: the mineral collection at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History. I love rocks and minerals, and I can never resist a good collection, wherever I roam — and the Carnegie’s Hillman Hall of Minerals and Gems is home to a very good collection indeed. A spectacular collection of specimens are beautifully displayed, singly or in groups, with great signage to help identify anything that is unfamiliar. I’d recommend allowing at the very least an hour to see this collection–more, if you really love rocks. (Here’s their website, if you want to plan a visit: http://www.carnegiemnh.org/.)

Here are just a few specimens I photographed this time.

Gypsum-Selenite in center

Gypsum-Selenite in center


Rhodochrosite and Quartz

Rhodochrosite and Quartz


Basalt

Basalt

Rock Crystal

Rock Crystal


Scolecite crystals

Scolecite crystals

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “Pittsburgh Rocks

  1. Pingback: Carnegie Museums and Libraries | Midwest Maize

Leave a Reply

